9
Aug
2005

ALERT: A Message From Cindy Sheehan, Crawford, TX

[ PLEASE FORWARD WIDELY ]

"...Why do the right wing media so assiduously scrutinize the words of a grief filled mother and ignore the words of a lying president?..."

Tuesday, August 9th, 2005 "Security Threat"

-- a Message From Cindy Sheehan, Crawford, TX

Where do I begin?

Today was a highly eventful day. This entry won’t be artful, but utilitarian.

I conservatively got 3 to 5 phone calls a minute. I did about 25 phone interviews and several TV interviews. I did several right-wing radio interviews. I was supposed to do: The Today Show, MSNBC live interview, Connected Coast to Coast (MSNBC) and Hardball (MSNBC). The Today Show just never showed up and the other 3 MSNBC shows cancelled for no reason.

Another big story that was going on today was about my first meeting with Bush in June of 2004. For you all I would like to clarify a few things. First of all, I did meet with George, and that is not a secret. I have written about it and been interviewed about it. I will stand by my recounting of the meeting. His behavior was rude and inappropriate. My behavior in June of 2004 is irrelevant to what is going on in 2005. I was in deep shock and deep grief. The grief is still there, but the shock has worn off and the deep anger has set in. And to remind everybody, a few things have happened since June of 2004: The 9/11 commission report; the Senate Intelligence report; the Duelfer WMD report; and most damaging and criminal: the Downing Street Memos. The VERY LAST THING I HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THIS IS: Why do the right wing media so assiduously scrutinize the words of a grief filled mother and ignore the words of a lying president?

In the early afternoon, we got word that if we were still there by Thursday, we were going to be deemed a "security threat" to the president. Condi and Rummy are coming in on Thursday for a "policy" meeting. I just don’t understand why we will be a security threat on Thursday when we aren’t now? If we don’t leave on Thursday, we could be arrested. Well, I am not leaving. There are only three things that would make me leave: if George comes out and talks to me; if August comes to an end, or if I am arrested.

People are heading here from all over the country. I have some more Gold Star Families for Peace members coming tomorrow. We are amazed by the outpouring of love and support we are getting. 62% of the American public are against this war and want our troops home. We need to show the media that we are in the majority. We need to show George Bush and his cabal of neocons that when we say "bring the troops home, now" we mean "bring the troops home, now!!!"

In the late afternoon, many of us left to go back to the peace house in Crawford because there was going to be a major lightning storm. While most of us were gone, the Sheriff came and told us that what we were told was county property really was private property and we would have to remove our stuff to a tiny place, or get it confiscated. I find it interesting that the county sheriff did not know that roads in his county that lead up to the presidential vacation home are private roads. I find it very hard to believe. They think that they are pushing us off, but we will not leave there voluntarily or without handcuffs on. My only hope is, there will be tons of media there when they carry me to the squad car.

Today was so bizarre for me. I got phone calls from famous people pledging their support, and phone calls from mothers with sons in Iraq who are overcome with emotion when they talk to me. And it is so brave for them to call me, because I am their worst fear. We had a young man who is in the US Army at Ft. Hood come this morning and spend hours with us. He has been there [Iraq] and his unit is scheduled to go back in October. How much courage did that take for him to come within earshot of his commander in chief’s home and spend time with some old hippy protestors???

We have a lawyer working on getting us closer to the ranch and working on magically turning the private property back into county property again. I have some awesome young ladies from CodePink answering my phone and taking phone calls. We have Veterans for Peace out there putting up banners (our tiny campsite looks real nice). We have concerned citizens from all over America starting to come in. IT IS FREAKIN AMAZING, FOLKS!!!

Come and join us and let your voices be joined with ours. VISIT: http://www.crawfordpeacehouse.org/index.html

AMEN!!!

http://michaelmoore.com/mustread/index.php


August 9th, 2005 3:43 am Locals join mom of fallen soldier staging protest near Bush ranch

NBC 6 News

A California woman's demand to meet with President Bush is now attracting supporters from all over. Monday, dozens of people showed up at the roadside camp after seeing her story on TV.

Cindy Sheehan says she'll continue to camp out all month until she meets face to face with President Bush.

Under a large tree and umbrellas, supporters of a peace movement continued their protest in the rain, along side the road leading to President Bush's ranch.

After the makeshift camp received national media attention this weekend, dozens are now coming in, bringing supplies and showing support.

Morgan Connery is from Lampasas.

“I just jumped in my truck and drove out with a big bucket of chicken. That was the best thing I could think of to bring. If I could've done it over, I'd bring a tent.

It's all in support of Cindy Sheehan, who lost her son Casey in the Iraq war: “I am amazed at the outpouring of love and support from around the world that we're getting.”

Sheehan's story tugged the heart of Killeen resident Cathleen Fox, whose son Christopher is stationed at Fort Hood. Christopher just got back from Iraq and will ship out again in a few months. The two came to the camp to show their support.

Cathleen says, “I read yesterday that Cindy Sheehan was out here and it just crushed me.”

Christopher says, “If I had my choice, I would rather not go back. I don't feel this war is necessary.”

President Bush's motorcade is expected to pass by the camp later in the week. Protesters have been told they may have to move, but they say they're not budging.

Protestor Diane Wilson says, “We're talking to the head of the ACLU of Texas and we're going to start fighting for inches.”

“I'm willing to be arrested,” Sheehan says. “I'll still be there and if they let me out of jail, I'll go back.”

McLennan County Sheriff Larry Lynch did not return repeated phone calls from NBC 6. Sheehan says she does not expect to get that face to face meeting with President Bush.

http://michaelmoore.com/words/index.php?id=3607


Informant: Hopedance
logo

Omega-News

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Suche

 

Archiv

August 2005
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 
 
 
 

Aktuelle Beiträge

Wenn das Telefon krank...
http://groups.google.com/g roup/mobilfunk_newsletter/ t/6f73cb93cafc5207   htt p://omega.twoday.net/searc h?q=elektromagnetische+Str ahlen http://omega.twoday. net/search?q=Strahlenschut z https://omega.twoday.net/ search?q=elektrosensibel h ttp://omega.twoday.net/sea rch?q=Funkloch https://omeg a.twoday.net/search?q=Alzh eimer http://freepage.twod ay.net/search?q=Alzheimer https://omega.twoday.net/se arch?q=Joachim+Mutter
Starmail - 8. Apr, 08:39
Familie Lange aus Bonn...
http://twitter.com/WILABon n/status/97313783480574361 6
Starmail - 15. Mär, 14:10
Dänische Studie findet...
https://omega.twoday.net/st ories/3035537/ -------- HLV...
Starmail - 12. Mär, 22:48
Schwere Menschenrechtsverletzungen ...
Bitte schenken Sie uns Beachtung: Interessengemeinschaft...
Starmail - 12. Mär, 22:01
Effects of cellular phone...
http://www.buergerwelle.de /pdf/effects_of_cellular_p hone_emissions_on_sperm_mo tility_in_rats.htm [...
Starmail - 27. Nov, 11:08

Status

Online seit 7334 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 8. Apr, 08:39

Credits